Holiday Gifts & Food 2017

HolidayMeals_page

United Way Long Island
819 Grand Boulevard, Deer Park, NY 11729
www.unitedwayli.org

2017 Holiday Wish List

Thank you for your generosity and concern over this holiday season. United Way of Long Island’s community partner agencies are seeking donations of goods and volunteer services to help needy families in your community.

Attached is a list of the organizations seeking holiday donations, along with contact persons so you may contact those of interest. Requested items are generally new. If an organization indicates “gently used” items, please ensure items are clean and in working order.

Volunteer opportunities and agencies that operate Adopt-a-Family programs are also listed. Please feel free to copy and distribute this list.

Nassau County

Adults and Children with Learning and Developmental Disabilities (Bethpage)
Contact Sabine Maynard 516.822.0028 ext. 130 or maynards@acld.org
Seeking gently used clothing for all ages children-adults.

Central Nassau Guidance and Counseling Services (Hicksville)
Contact Lisa Friscia 516.396.5075 or lfriscia@centralnassau.org
Seeking new toys for infant – 12 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; new clothing for infant to adult; gently
used clothing for adults; new coats. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Circulo de la Hispanidad (Long Beach)
Contact Sarah Brewster 516.431.1135 or sbrewster@cdlh.org
Seeking new toys for infant – 14 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new and gently
used winter coats for adult men.

COPAY Inc. (Great Neck)
Contact Michelle Kirkpatrick/Michelle Ramos 516.466.2509 or mkirtpatrick.copay@gmail.com /
mramos.copay@gmail.com
Seeking new toys for children 5 – 12 yrs; individual food baskets; new clothing for children 5 – 12 esp.
winter coats/hats/scarves/gloves.

EAC Network (Hempstead)
Contact Rachel Lugo 631.648.7100 x 227 or rachel.lugo@eacinc.org
Seeking new toys for infant – 18 yrs.; individual food baskets; new clothing for all ages; holiday
decorations.

Harbor Day Care Center (New Hyde Park)
Contact Deanna Cinelli 516.248.9855 or dcinelli@harborchildcare.org
Seeking new toys for children 12 weeks–12 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; new clothing for children 12
weeks–12 yrs. and for adult men & women all sizes; proceeds of coat drives; supermarket gift cards;
retail store gift cards. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Helen Keller Services for the Blind (Hempstead)
Contact Lorrane Locurto 516.485.1234 x 6610 or locurto@helenkeller.org
Seeking holiday decorations.

H.E.L.P Services Inc. (Freeport)
Contact Sara McLaughlin 216.378.1111 x 110 or smclaughlin@helpservices.org
Seeking new and gently used toys for 5 – 19 yrs.; new and gently used clothing for 5 – 19 yrs.; proceeds
of coat drives; holiday decorations.

Hicksville Boys & Girls Club
Contact Thomas Bruno 516.822.7594 or hycbgc@aol.com
Seeking new toys for children 11-18 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; holiday
decorations.

Hispanic Brotherhood Inc. (Rockville Centre)
Contact Jenny Cepero or Kathleen Kurtis 516.766.6610 or hispanicrvc@aol.com
Seeking new toys for children newborn-12 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new
clothing for children and adult all sizes; holiday decorations; gift cards.

Long Beach Reach
Contact Denise Robinson 516.889.2332 or drobinson@longbeachreach.com
Seeking new toys for infant -10 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new clothing for
infant -10 yrs and maternity.

Long Island Council on Alcoholism & Drug Dependence (Westbury)
Contact Lauren Laurore 516.747.2606 or llaurore@licadd.org
Seeking new toys for 11 – 20 yrs.; individual food baskets; new and gently used clothing for
children/teens esp. pants/shirts; proceeds of coat drives.

Lutheran Social Service of New York (Uniondale)
Contact Hylkije Halili 516.483.3240 or hhalili@lssny.org
Seeking new toys for baby – 18 yrs.; gently used toys for baby–5 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets and turkeys; new and gently used clothing for infant–10 yrs.; proceeds of coat drives.

Parent Child Home Program (Mineola)
Contact Cynthia Younker 516.883.7480 or mioannou@parent-child.org
Seeking new toys for children 2-4 yrs., especially children’s books.

Society of St. Vincent de Paul (Bethpage)
Contact Terri Zenobio 516.822.3132 or tzenobio@svdpli.org
Seeking new toys for teenagers; new clothing for men esp. jeans/sweatshirts; gently used clothing;
proceeds of coat drives.

Woodward Children’s Center (Freeport)
Contact Gregory Ingino or Danielle Colucci 516.379.0900 or gingino@woodwardchildren.org
dcolucci@woodwardchildren.org
Seeking new toys for 13 yrs – adult; proceeds of food drives; new clothing for 13 – adult.

YES Community Counseling Center (Massapequa)
Contact Mark Wenzel 516.799.3203 or mwenzel@yesccc.org
Seeking new toys for children 5-15 yrs.; new clothing for 5 – adult. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Suffolk County

Association for Mental Health and Wellness– Suffolk County United Veterans (Yaphank)
Contact Ruth McDade 631.471.7242 x 1329 or rmcdade@mhaw.org
Seeking proceeds of food drives; new clothing for adult male veterans esp. scarves/hats/gloves/socks/
thermal underwear.

Association for Mental Health and Wellness (Ronkonkama)
Contact Ruth McDade 631.471.7242 x 1329 or rmcdade@mhaw.org
Seeking new toys for children 5 – 17 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; proceeds of
coat drives.

Colonial Youth and Family Services (Shirley)
Contact Ray Hopp or Samantha Soccorso 631.281.4461 or rhopp@colonialyfs.com
Seeking new toys for infants – 17 yrs.; new clothing for infant-17 yrs. esp. Sweaters/coats/boots/
pajamas/shirts/pants; holiday decorations. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Community Development Corp. of Long Island (Centereach)
Cotact Joan Convery 631.471.1215 x 126 or jconvery@cdcli.org
Seeking supermarket giftcards.

EAC Network (Central Islip)
Contact Andrea Ramos-Topper or artopper@eacinc.org
Seeking new toys for toddlers–15 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new clothing for
children sizes small – X large; holiday decorations; holiday trees. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Family Service League (Huntington)
Contact Lisa Jamison 631.470.6778 or ljamison@fsl-li.org
Seeking new toys for infants-18 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new clothing for all ages.

Long Island Against Domestic Violence (Central Islip)
Contact Diane Mikelinich 631.666.7181 or info@liadv.org
Seeking new toys for infants – 16 yrs.; new clothing for infants – 16 yrs. and adult women.

Long Island Cares (Hauppauge)
Contact Billy Gonyou 631.582.3663 x 113 or wgonyou@licares.org
Seeking proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets.

Long Island Coalition for the Homeless (Amityville)
Contact Cindy Barahms 631.464.4314 x 122 or boutique@addressthehomeless.org
Seeking non-perishable foods; new & gently used clothing for all ages/sizes; proceeds of coat drives.

Long Island Head Start (Patchogue)
Contact Carol Burnett 631.758.5200 x 140 or cburnett@liheadstart.org
New toys for children birth-5 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new clothing children birth-5 yrs. sweaters/pants/sweatshirts/coats/hats/mittens/scarves/underwear/onesies/socks/pajamas; proceeds of coat drives; toiletries, personal care & hygiene products/cleaning products; diapers/wipes/ blankets/sheets/towels/brooms/mops/vacuums/pediasure. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Maureen’s Haven (Riverhead)
Contact Maryann Gensler 631.727.6831 or maryann@maureenshaven.org
Seeking proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; holiday decorations.

Options for Community Living Inc. (Smithtown)
Contact Denise Waterhouse 631.361.9020 x 1119 or dwaterhouse@optionscl.org
Seeking new toys for birth–13 yrs.; individual food baskets; gift cards for grocery stores, moderate priced
retailers and gas cards. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Pronto of Long Island (Bay Shore)
Contact Kathy Bennett 631.231.8290 or kbennett@prontolongisland.org
Seeking new toys for children 1-12 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; new & gently used clothing for children
1-12 yrs. and teenagers. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

The Retreat (East Hampton)
Contact Vanessa Petruccelli 631.329.4398 or vanessa@theretrearinc.org
Seeking new toys; new clothing; gift cards for groceries; gas cards. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

Skills Unlimited (Oakdale)
Contact Jaimee Romeo 631.567.1626 or jromeo@skillsunlimited.org
Seeking proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets; new clothing for adult men & women.

Transitional Services/Haven House Bridges (Brentwood)
Contact Carrie Scomillio 631.231.3619 or cscomillio@tsli-hhb.org
Seeking new toys for children infant – 14 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets.

United Way of Long Island – YouthBuild (Deer Park)
Contact Christine Pastore 631.940.3707 or cpastore@unitedwayli.org
New toys for infant – 5 yrs; proceeds of food drives; new and gently used clothing for infant–5 yrs.; new
and gently used business suits for males and females; proceeds of coat drives.

VIBS (Islandia)
Contact Celeste McKinstry 631.360.3730 ext.130 or cmckinstry@vibs.org
Seeking new toys for infant-14 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets. Conducts an Adopt A Family program.

WellLife Network (Hauppauge)
Contact Ann Nosewicz 631.920.8028 or ann.nosewicz@welllifenetwork.org
Seeking new toys for infant – 14 yrs.; proceeds of food drives; individual food baskets.

Holiday Volunteer Opportunities

Nassau County

Long Island Center on Alcoholism & Drug Dependence (Westbury)
Contact Lauren Laurore 516.747.2606 or llaurore@licadd.org
Volunteers needed to sort and wrap donated toys; to assist at holiday party December 22 at 5 pm.

Suffolk County

Colonial Youth and Family Services (Mastic Beach)
Contact Ray Hopp or Samanrha Soccorso 631.281.4461 or rhopp@colonialyfs.com
Volunteers needed to sort & pack donated food on December 18 – 21 from 8:30 am – 4:30 pm

Long Island Cares (Hauppauge)
Contact Billy Gonyou 631.582.3663 x 113 or wgonyou@licares.org
Volunteers needed to help sort and pack donated food; deliver food baskets.

Long Island Coalition for the Homeless (Amityville)
Contact Cindy Barahms 631.464.4314 ext.122 or boutique@addressthehomeless.org
Volunteers needed to sort and pack donated food.

Pronto of Long Island (Bay Shore)
Contact Kathy Bennett 631.231.8290 or kbennett@prontolongisland.org
Volunteers needed to sort & pack donated food; pack food baskets on November 16 – 21 from
9:00 pm – 2:00 pm.

The Retreat (East Hampton)
Contact Vanessa Petruccelli 631.329.4398 or vanessa@theretrearinc.org
Volunteers needed to sort and wrap donated toys.